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Explore the top 10 affiliate marketing KPIs essential for tracking and boosting your sales growth. Learn how to measure performance, optimize campaigns, and maximize revenue with the right metrics.
Affiliate marketing is a great way for businesses to generate massive online income and drive sales. Beneficial to both affiliate marketers and businesses, the right affiliate marketing tactics can prove a game-changer for all.
No wonder, the affiliate marketing market in the US reached $8.2 billion in 2022, which was $5.4 billion in 2017.
Like paid search, social media, and email marketing, affiliate marketing is being leveraged by many companies around the world for customer acquisition. However, to run a successful affiliate marketing campaign, it is pivotal to create solid affiliate marketing strategies.
A well-planned affiliate marketing strategy helps businesses and affiliates reap the best benefits of affiliate marketing by promoting the right information, engaging customers, and building a loyal community. The image below shows how the affiliate marketing program actually works.
Tracking several critical affiliate marketing KPIs or key performance indicators helps monitor growth of an affiliate program. As a result of these metrics, teams are able to understand whether affiliate campaigns have been successful or unsuccessful.
In this post, we will discuss the top 10 critical affiliate marketing KPIs that you need to track to boost sales.
Here’s a list of top affiliate marketing KPIs for sales that you must consider.
There are many things about your affiliate marketing program that can be determined by these KPIs, including:
To ensure qualitative results, choosing the right KPIs for affiliate marketing metrics is crucial. Analyze these common KPIs with your sales operation team and discuss how these key metrics can help you reach your sales goals in no time.
So, what is sales operations and how does the sales operations team contribute to sales growth?
By managing the research and administrative tasks of the sales process, the sales operations team focuses on helping the customer-facing sales team close deals faster. They do so by undertaking a variety of functions, such as sales strategy, sales process optimization, forecasting, employee training, and talent acquisition.
Sales operations form the backbone of the entire sales team because they are responsible for many critical and complex responsibilities. Hence, forming the right team is essential to ensure success in sales.
Affiliate marketing is one of the widely-used sales strategies that most sales operations teams invest in for achieving sales goals. Let us understand how affiliate marketing boosts sales.
Affiliate marketing offers profitable sales channels for businesses. And with the right affiliate program software provides the ability to bring in additional traffic, qualified leads, and increased conversions. Here are some of the ways affiliate marketing is proving to be a boon for businesses.
Now, let’s get started with the affiliate marketing KPIs.
The conversion rate records the percentage of visitors who have converted into customers successfully by taking the desired action. It can include signing up for a free trial or subscribing to a premium plan. Each goal will have a unique conversion rate depending on the conversion goals you set.
Calculate conversion rates by dividing the total number of conversions by the total number of visitors. For instance, if you created a social media ad on Facebook that reached an audience of 10000 people and the ad received about 300 clicks, then the overall conversion rate would be calculated as follows:
300/10000 = 0.03 or 3% conversion rate.
Conversion rates are a great way to uncover the most effective affiliate marketing channels. Here are a few ways how conversion rate helps you in setting up the best affiliate marketing program.
As the name suggests, the sales per affiliate KPI is the measure of the number of sales done by an affiliate marketer. In simple words, it’s the number of customers an individual affiliate brings to your business.
Sales per affiliate play a significant role in measuring customer acquisition as every customer that the affiliate brings in contributes to the conversion of the goals of your affiliate marketing strategy.
Sales per affiliate is an important KPI for affiliate marketing for the following reasons.
Although you have a significant number of affiliates registered in your program, the number of affiliates who are actively working for promotions may vary. Hence, tracking the number of active affiliate members is crucial for the success of affiliate programs.
The percentage of active affiliates is the number of affiliates who are putting in effort for generating sales or leads for your business. By dividing the number of active affiliates by the total number of affiliates, you can determine the active affiliate rate.
For example, if you have 1000 affiliates and only 125 are actively engaging to refer customers, then the percentage of active affiliates will be:
125/1000 = 0.125 = 12.5%
Here are a few ways why the percentage of active affiliates KPI is helpful for your affiliate campaigns.
Customer lifetime value (CLV) is the total value a typical customer is expected to bring into your business, minus the amount of money you have spent on acquiring the customer.
CLV is one of the best metrics to monitor customer acquisition cost and foresee the future profitability of a business. Customer Lifetime Value is calculated as follows:
Customer Lifetime Value = Average Transaction Size x Number of Transactions x Retention Period
For example, a SaaS company offering multiple pricing plans has typical customers who spend $20 per month. Considering these customers subscribe for two years, their total lifetime value would be:
CLV = Subscription cost * Number of payments in a year * Duration of subscription = $20 * 12 * 2 = $480
It contributes significantly toward organic business growth. Here are a few reasons why CLV is an important KPI of an affiliate marketing program.
Average order value is the average amount spent by the customer every time they buy something from your business. It helps you keep a track of customer behavior by giving intelligent insights into repeat orders, best-selling products, and worst-selling products while highlighting the efficiency of the affiliate program members.
Average order value is calculated by dividing the revenue generated by the number of sales. For example, if the total revenue for September was $50000 and the total number of sales generated by the affiliate program was 1225, then the AOV during September was $40.81.
Average order value must matter for businesses because:
Cost per affiliate sale or cost per lead is the amount of money spent on affiliate sales. It is the average cost per acquisition.
For example, a SaaS company offering a software solution to B2B customers can leverage an affiliate marketing program to tap into larger audiences. As the company would be paying affiliate commissions for qualified leads, monitoring and measuring the cost per lead would be ideal for sales success.
Measuring the amount of money you spend on securing a sale through an affiliate program helps you gauge whether you are putting the right efforts into affiliate marketing. You can also compare these costs with that of other marketing platforms to determine the ones that work the best for your business.
Assessing the engagement affiliates receive on their promotional posts reflects how trusting their following is and how influential they are in influencing their audience. By assessing the quality of affiliate traffic on their websites, posts, and social media channels, you can understand whether they drive high-value customers to your business.
Affiliate engagement comprises the number of visits your website receives through affiliate links, the number of referrals, and conversions. For an affiliate program to succeed, the affiliates must take a genuine interest in promoting the products or services.
Monitoring customer engagement with your affiliates gives you intelligent insights into streamlining your affiliate marketing efforts. For example, by understanding how they manage the promotion of your products, you can prepare a library of promotional assets, such as promotional banners, infographics, ebooks, videos, and more.
Besides, you can create internal documentation to provide the affiliate partners with the necessary information about the products, such as feature updates, product roadmap, and other details. This documentation could also contain resources about affiliate marketing best practices, affiliate program policies, and more that affiliates can refer to when they need to understand the program details.
The engagement metrics help in monitoring brand awareness and incoming traffic to your website.
The rate of return or rate of cancellation is the percentage of purchases through affiliate links that are returned or canceled.
The reasons for the cancellations or returns could vary depending on the type of business and industry they belong to. For example, the average customer might cancel their SaaS subscriptions if the product doesn’t match their requirements.
Similarly, customers buying from businesses might return the products they buy because of quality issues, delays in eCommerce order fulfillment, customer service, bad returns policies, failed payment attempts, and more.
Measuring the rate of return or rate of cancellation helps you analyze the performance of the affiliate marketing campaigns. It helps businesses identify if affiliates are promoting the products to the right audience or not.
This is one of the most important KPIs for tracking the performance of affiliate marketing campaigns. Observing the metrics, such as affiliate link clicks, traffic, engagement, cost per lead, and more without understanding how it affects the business revenue will result in ill-performing campaigns. Hence, monitoring affiliate revenue besides click-through rate and views is essential.
For example, an affiliate marketer that focuses on promoting product reviews or doing product comparisons will receive more clicks when compared to the ones who are simply sharing posts related to the products. Therefore, affiliate marketers must plan their strategy to reach out to larger audiences and increase revenue. This will also impact their affiliate commissions and help them earn a handsome amount.
Here are a few reasons why measuring revenue helps in streamlining affiliate marketing campaigns.
To yield the best results, it is ideal to run affiliate marketing campaigns for at least a few years. Hence, tracking its growth every year is an important affiliate marketing KPI.
Growth year-over-year is a critical metric that every marketing team must track to monitor the growth of affiliate marketing campaigns. It compares the affiliate results over many years and helps businesses understand its performance.
Monitoring growth year-over-year helps businesses in the following ways.
Monitoring the right affiliate marketing KPIs keeps you updated about the performance of the affiliate marketing campaigns. With the help of this numerical data, you can focus your affiliate marketing campaign effort in the right direction and boost your affiliate program success and business sales.
Post Affiliate Pro offers amazing affiliate program software that helps businesses plan, manage, and monitor their affiliate marketing program without any hassles. It helps businesses set up multiple affiliate programs, track the affiliate members’ performance, and send their payments from a unified dashboard.
If you are looking for an all-in-one software to kickstart your affiliate marketing efforts, Post Affiliate Pro is the best platform for you. Sign up for a free trial today!
The average affiliate marketing ROI varies depending on the specific campaign, industry, and other factors. However, research suggests that the average ROI for affiliate marketing ranges from 5-10%.
The top KPIs for affiliate marketing include conversion rate, sales per affiliate, percentage of active affiliates, customer lifetime value (CLV), average order value, cost per affiliate sale or lead, overall engagement, rate of return or cancellation, revenue, and year-over-year growth.
Lucy Manole is a creative content writer and strategist at Marketing Digest. She specializes in writing about digital marketing, technology, entrepreneurship, and education. When she is not writing or editing, she spends time reading books, cooking and traveling.
Discover how tracking the right KPIs can drive your affiliate program’s success and increase your sales. Get started with powerful tools and insights from Post Affiliate Pro.
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